Facebook Messenger Shares Your Location With Every Message

HowToAskme

facebook-messenger

Facebook Messenger Shares Your Location With Every Message

You are probably conscious that Facebook collects a lots of info concerning you, but if you’re using the mobile Messenger app, that likewise suggests your area data also. A new Chrome expansion calledMarauders Map allows any person you have actually sent a message view that place details at one time. By default, the mobile Messenger app logs your place in every message. Even if you’re not actively choosing to send your location, it’s embedded in the notification itself. Open the Messenger application today and also tap on a message from someone else. There’s a greatchance you’ll obtain a map with the place they send out that message from. As the creator ofthe Marauders Map extension points out, the extension enables you to see all thataccumulated information simultaneously to make it simple to track everywhere they haveactually been.

The good news is, it’s easy to turn off this creepy attribute:

On Android:

Step 1

 Tap the menu icon > Settings > Location Services

Step 2

Uncheck the box that enables location services

On iOS:

Step 1

Head into Settings > Privacy > Location Services

Step 2

Fine Facebook Messenger on the list and set the location option to off

That need to stop Messenger from sending your area with future notifications, however won’t erase old area information, so keep that in mind. If someone used the extension mentioned over, they would certainly still have the ability to track your previous areas pretty quickly.